Little Pink House by Jeff Benedict Audio Giveaway

little-pink-house

Thanks to Anna Balasi of Hachette Book Group I will be giving away 3 copies of this book (it will be an audiobook).  To enter, please leave a comment but remember it will only be open to residents of the US and Canada and we will not be able to ship to P.O. Boxes.  This contest will end January 24th.  Good Luck!

About the Book:

Suzette Kelo was just trying to rebuild her life when she purchased a falling down Victorian house perched on the waterfront in New London, CT. The house wasn’t particularly fancy, but with lots of hard work Suzette was able to turn it into a home that was important to her, a home that represented her new found independence.

Little did she know that the City of New London, desperate to revive its flailing economy, wanted to raze her house and the others like it that sat along the waterfront in order to win a lucrative Pfizer pharmaceutical contract that would bring new business into the city. Kelo and fourteen neighbors flat out refused to sell, so the city decided to exercise its power of eminent domain to condemn their homes, launching one of the most extraordinary legal cases of our time, a case that ultimately reached the United States Supreme Court.

In Little Pink House, award-winning investigative journalist Jeff Benedict takes us behind the scenes of this case — indeed, Suzette Kelo speaks for the first time about all the details of this inspirational true story as one woman led the charge to take on corporate America to save her home.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
153 Comments

Filed under Book Giveaway

153 responses to “Little Pink House by Jeff Benedict Audio Giveaway

  1. I’ve posted this on Win A Book. No need to enter the contest.

  2. mamacitay2j

    This sounds really interesting, please enter me for this as well, thanks! lpmccann(at) gmail.com

  3. I would love to win an audio book it would be my first!

  4. J Chaborek

    Sound great! Please enter me!

  5. Darby Lohrding

    Wow, you guys are on a roll here with the audio books!!!
    Perhaps when I win, it will justify me to upgrade the sound system in my car…now wouldn’t that be nice!
    Thanks again for the offer!
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  6. Leona P

    PLEASE ENTER ME, THANKS

  7. Please count me in 🙂

  8. RICHARD DEYARMOND

    my daughter could add this to her audio book library

  9. This sounds really interesting. 🙂

  10. B Freier

    Have never won an audio book, but I listen to 3-4 books a month. Thanks for the chance to WIN.

  11. Dawn Horns

    Looks like an interesting read.

  12. Victoria R

    Please enter me and have a happy New Year!!

  13. Wendy aka misswendiki

    That book sounds great! I’d love the chance to win!

  14. sandy

    would love this

  15. Jeffrey Beckett

    Sign me up please!

  16. I would like to be entered, thanks!

    akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

  17. I would love to be entered. 🙂

    Valorie
    morbidromantic@gmail.com

  18. Carol Lawrence

    I listen to a lot of audiobooks,hope I win.

  19. susan varney

    i’m an avid reader hope to win

  20. Tracey Byram

    This sounds interesting. Audiobooks are the perfect thing for when you’re doing something boring like housework. Multitasking at it’s finest.

  21. Michael Capp

    I’d love to win!

  22. Ann Fantom

    I would love to be able to listen to this book in the car. Pleae enter me.

  23. Jean Fischer

    This would be great. I also live in CT

  24. Gwendolyn B.

    Wow! Great giveaway. I love these kinds of cases. Thanks for the chance.
    geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

  25. Carolyn G

    This book sounds so good.

  26. Please enter me !

    wendyhines (at) hotmail (dot) com

  27. adrienne Gordon

    audio books rule!

  28. Linda Chaput

    I’d love to win this book.I am a subscriber.

  29. galena penrod

    would love this

  30. c. clemens

    great its a audio book!

  31. Bridget

    Count me in! Thanks.

    bridget3420(at)yahoo(dot)com

  32. Deborah Wellenstein

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this audiobook. I look forward to it.

  33. Patty Hasbargen

    Sounds like great winter reading.

  34. david basile

    count me in thanks

  35. Ken

    Enter me to win.

  36. Rita A.

    What a great story line.

  37. Sounds like a good read (listen). Thanks for the chance.

  38. Renee G

    This sounds like an awesome audio book.

    rsgrandinetti(at)yahoo(dot)com

  39. Becky Grayson

    I would love to listen to this book. I work in municipal government and eminent domain has always intrigued me. Luckily the City I work for should never have this problem but then again one never knows.

    Thanks so much!

    dbkagrayson2002 [at] gmail [dot] com

  40. Zoly

    I love when the underdog beats the rich bureaucratic system. I want this book.

  41. T

    I would love to read (listen) to this! Thanks!

    Tarah
    tarah716[at]ymail.com

  42. trish

    I love true triumphant stories. Thanks for the chance to win this!

  43. Sylvia Belle

    I love audio books!

  44. Angela J

    Sounds good.

  45. Jason

    I am taking a long road trip here coming up so this would be perfect

  46. veronica sandberg

    want to win this

  47. Karen B

    Fascinating! This would be a great introduction to audio books for me.

  48. Susan Smith

    Sounds like an interesting book

  49. Linda Peters

    Love to win this, thanks

  50. Sharon M

    This sounds really good and I sure know what it’s like to fall in love with a house!

  51. Christina Brunetti

    I would love to have this.

    Thanks

  52. Anne

    My mom would love this.

    Thanks so much!

  53. Kim

    This would be a great audiobook to take on my next road trip! Thank you for your giveaways!

  54. Francine Anchondo

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  55. please enter me!

    meh471 (at) gmail (dot) com

  56. Heather

    Enter me please.

  57. billy wilson

    sounds good

  58. Sara Miller

    Please enter me…I’d love to win. Thanks! Sararush at hotmail dot com

  59. djp

    sound like a good one

  60. I wouuld love to hear this. I am very interested in the subject of eminent domain!

  61. Kathy Scott

    I drive 67 miles to go shopping. This would help pass the time.

  62. sounds terrific. thanks for entry!!!

  63. Viva

    I am a REALTOR and would love to read this book, put me in the drawing

  64. Beth

    This sound great!

    bookcrossingkitten22(at)gmail(dot)com

  65. David

    I like true stories, thanks.

  66. Gary Osborn

    Wooo Hooo Make me a winner!

  67. jwb

    I feel VERY strongly against this case — I know in my home state of Virginia, the legislature moved so that this can’t happen in the Commonwealth. I love audiobooks because my hubby and I do a lot of driving, so this book would be perfect for us! Thanks!

  68. Jessie W

    This sounds really nice! Enter me in your giveaway please, thanks!

  69. Dave

    This sounds like a great story. Thank you for the chance to win.

  70. sandi smith

    Eminent domain is such a sore subject with me and I think I would like the way it is dealt with in this book.

  71. Cathy Casper

    this would be great on my daily commute

  72. valerie mabrey

    count me in too

  73. Bobv

    My granddaughter would love this, enter me please.

  74. I would love to win this! Please enter me. 🙂

  75. mj

    I’d love to read this!

  76. Aisling

    Wow – good for Ms. Kelo. I’d love to listen to this book.

  77. ELE

    I would love to start my audiobook collection with 1 that I had won

  78. I’d love to win this book. Please enter me in the contest! 🙂

  79. Karen Gonyea

    I could really use some good audiobooks.

  80. Andria

    I would love a chance to win. Thank you.

  81. Vicky Boackle

    this sounds delightful to listen to.

  82. tim brown

    THANK YOU GOD BLESS

  83. Brenda

    I would love to read this book.

  84. Michele Wesley

    Please enter me into the contest.

  85. Vicki wurgler

    I would love to win an audio book

  86. Rosanne

    I loved the idea of this book as soon as I read the review

  87. Kathy D

    I love books on tape and cd….. Thank you for the contest

  88. This sounds really good! Please enter me and also come visit me at my new blog that will be a week old on Jan. 16th! I have a contest for a signed copy of CREEPERS! Thanks!
    Bingo at http://bookinwithbingo.blogspot.com

  89. great looking book – please enter me!!!!

  90. Jay French

    I remember hearing about this story and would like to listen to it in detail.

  91. Sandra Brodeur

    Sounds like a great book and I love audio books because my old eyes aren’t what they use to be! 🙂

  92. Linda Moeller

    This would be a new author for me so I’d love to sample his work.

  93. Ken Robinson

    Poor eyesight makes this version of the book mandatory. Please accept my entry. Thank you.

  94. Alicia

    Thanks for the giveaway >^..^<

  95. REBECCA TOWNER

    love books and now that my drive to and from work is 45 minutes each way-I like listening to audiobooks. would love to add this to my collection

  96. N Moyer

    Sounds interesting

  97. Alice C

    love audiobooks

  98. sharon johnson

    would love to win!

  99. I love listening to audiobooks. Please enter me!

  100. Paul Z

    I would love to win this. I followed the Kelo case and have an interest in all forms of government theft, e.g. eminent domain, asset forfeiture, taxation, etc.

  101. Daniel M

    looks great add me please!

  102. Jennifer Hedden

    enter me

  103. ky2here

    I’d love to hear this book.

  104. Gary Emes

    count me in three!

  105. Gabriel J.

    Please, enter me, great prize!!! I would love to win this.

  106. Looks great! Thanks for the giveaway!

  107. It would make a super gift for my daughter who is attending college in Conn. this year. She lives the the Hartford area and loves to explore all the little towns around her.

  108. Rose Roberts

    this looks interesting

  109. Gina V

    I love audio books. I don’t have a lot of time to sit down and read so I really enjoy listening to them in the car during my commute to work and home! Great Contest. I hope I win!

  110. christopher h

    love to win this

  111. Erma

    I would love the chance to win,thanks.

  112. Amy Tucker

    I would love this audio book!

  113. Aletha Hendrickson

    Always love a good underdog story. Thanks for the giveaway.

  114. Gina Benway

    I love audio books, thanks

  115. Tammy Marshall

    Nice contest, hope to win.

  116. djgroz

    Need to win this for my aunt who is legally blind

  117. shawna

    Sounds like an amazing book!

  118. Ed Nemmers

    Happy January!

  119. Marion B

    Please enter me into the drawing!

  120. CHARLENE S.

    I love true stories, great giveaway, thanks.

  121. Karrie

    sounds like a great read

  122. Bill McCurry

    Looking forward to hearing this book.

  123. Linda Howard

    Please enter me. Thanks!

  124. Annette

    Audiobooks are wonderful!

  125. Leann S

    Sounds like a fascinating read. Curious to see how it turned out.

  126. Liz

    What an exciting story . . . and it’s true! WOW! I’d love to hear it when I commute! 🙂

  127. Brenda Park

    Thanks for the chance to win a good audiobook!

  128. Roseann K.

    Love to win this! Thanks!

  129. Amy Griffin

    Just reading about this gave me goosebumps! I’d love to win this audiobook. Thanks for a great giveaway!

  130. Leigh Nichols

    Wonderful giveaway!

  131. dorothy l

    I would love to win

  132. kathy yohanna

    Audiobooks make my long drive to work seem shorter. I hope I win. Thanks.

  133. kathy pease

    PLEASE COUNT ME IN ON THIS AWESOME GIVEAWAY 🙂

  134. Jennifer Schroeder

    This is another fantastic audiobook contest! Thank you so much for the great contest.

  135. Jacquie Hess

    I would like to win this.

  136. Sounds good. Please enter me!

    Deidre
    deidre_durance at hotmail dot com

  137. Susan Ledet

    I enjoy audio books and would love to hear this one.

  138. I’d like to win a copy. Please include me in the drawing.

  139. Lucky Ladybug

    I’d love to listen to this 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  140. Veronica Garrett

    I would love to read this inspiring story.

  141. Deborah

    I’ve only recently discovered the joy of audiobooks. I’d love to win this!

  142. Tisa

    Would love to win this! ~ 🙂 Thanks!

  143. Susanne Troop

    Please count me in!

  144. Nannette Ryan

    I listen to audiobooks every day and am always looking for something new

  145. Elizabeth Ray

    I hadn’t heard of this title before, but it sounds very interesting!

  146. Donna K

    I would like it.

  147. Suanne Giddings

    Hooray for her and her neighbors! I would love to hear this story! Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway!

  148. Jeanine Price

    Nice prize! I would love to win! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  149. Heather C

    This sounds so scary! I’ve known others who lost land because it too were condemned…but not so bad that they couldn’t build other things there. I thought we lived in a country that didn’t do that! Guess not.

Leave a Reply

