Eat, Drink, and Be from Mississippi by Nanci Kincaid

eat-drink-and-be

Truely Noonan is the quintessential Southern boy made good. Like his older sister, Courtney, Truely left behind the slow, sweet life of Mississippi for jet-set San Francisco, where he earned a fortune as an Internet entrepreneur. Courtney and Truely each find happy marriages–until, as if cursed by success, those marriages start to crumble. Then their lives are interrupted by an unexpected stranger–a troubled teenager named Arnold, garrulous, charming, thuggishly dressed, and determined to move in to their world. Arnold turns their lives upside down–and in the process this unlikely trio becomes the family that each had been searching for. In the best Southern fiction tradition, Kincaid has brought us an inspiring story about finding the way home.

I have been truly (no pun intended) fortunate this year as I don’t believe that I have read a bad book.  I know that it is early in the year yet, and am sure that this will change but I am going to keep thinking positive.

I was sent this book by Miriam Parker.  After reading the description I thought that it sounded wonderful, and was I right.  I had never read a book by Nancy Kincaid before, but suffice it to say my TBR pile has now grown even larger, if that’s possible.

Truely and his sister Courtney have both left the slow paced life of Mississippi to break out into the “real” world and explore life in a happening city…a city like San Francisco.  Truely is wealthy, having made his fortune as an Internet entrepreneur.  He and his sister both have a charmed life with money, a happy marriage, and success.  Until it all starts to fall apart, beginning with their marriages.

It’s hard to feel sorry for them because they still have so much going for them, but I did.  And then their lives are turned upside down by Arnold, a troubled youth who is exactly what they have both been looking for to make their lives complete.

Not only did I think that this story was extremely well written, I fell in love with the characters.  She has a wonderful gift in being able to bring them to life and you can really relate to them. 

Nanci Kincaid is the author of Crossing Blood, Balls, Pretending the Bed Is a Raft (made into the feature film My Life Without Me), Verbena, and As Hot as it Was You Ought to ThankMe. She divides her time between San Jose and Honolulu.

Thanks so much to Miriam Parker, of The Hachette Book Group for sending me this ARC to review!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Comments

Filed under book review

2 responses to “Eat, Drink, and Be from Mississippi by Nanci Kincaid

  1. I really liked this book, too. I finished the other day and I’m still thinking about it.

  2. CoomefaseReox

    Hi, cool site, good writing 😉

Leave a Reply

