Win a copy of Sway by Zachary Lazar!

Would you like to win a copy of Sway by Zachary Lazar? Here is some info about the book:

sway

Three dramatic and emblematic stories intertwine in Zachary Lazar’s extraordinary new novel, SWAY–the early days of the Rolling Stones, including the romantic triangle of Brian Jones, Anita Pallenberg, and Keith Richards; the life of avant-garde filmmaker Kenneth Anger; and the community of Charles Manson and his followers.

Lazar illuminates an hour in American history when rapture found its roots in idolatrous figures and led to unprovoked and inexplicable violence. Connecting all the stories in this novel is Bobby Beausoleil, a beautiful California boy who appeared in an Anger film and eventually joined the Manson “family.”

With great artistry, Lazar weaves scenes from these real lives together into a true but heightened reality, making superstars human, giving demons reality, and restoring mythic events to the scale of daily life.

“One hypnotic tone poem…. It is not the now-historic acts of violence that make Sway so riveting, but its vivid character portraits and decadent, muzzy atmosphere, all rendered with the heightened sensory awareness associated with drugs and paranoia.

The near miniaturist precision with which he describes Keith Richards’s attempts to master his guitar, Brian Jones’s acid trips and Anger’s obsessive desire for Beausoleil bring this large-scale tableau into stunning relief.” –Liz Brown, Time Out New York

I will be giving away 5 copies of this book. Unfortunately winners are limited to the US and Canada…sorry about that. I will be drawing the winners on March 8 so hurry up and leave a comment. Please remember to have a valid email address so I know where to contact you and thanks!

 

 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “Win a copy of Sway by Zachary Lazar!

  1. I’ve posted this on Win A Book. Sounds very interesting indeed. winabook@westofmars.com

  2. nhertel85

    Please enter me in the contest.

    nhertel85 AT yahoo DOT com

  3. Lis

    I’ve heard so much about this book! I would love to be entered. 😀

  4. Kimmy L

    I would love to enter to win.

    klmc_37@yahoo.com

  5. amandasue

    I’d love a chance to read this, thanks!

  6. Hey, enter me please. The book sounds really interesting. Thanks!

    tiffanyak1986(at)hotmail(dot)com

  7. Kat Bryan

    Interesting to say the least. I remember the Manson killings and all the publicity surrounding them.

  8. Dawn M.

    Sounds interesting. Count me in, too :0)

    Thanks!

  9. wow sounds liek a great book!! love to win!

  10. bridget3420

    I’d like to win:)

    bridget3420(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. mindy

    sounds like a great read thanks for the giveaway

  12. Tracey Byram

    This sounds like a book I could really get into reading.

  13. Gwendolyn B.

    I’d love to read this — I remember these events! Thanks for the chance!
    geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

  14. I think this book sounds really really good. Please enter me!!!
    -Lauren

    lauren51990 AT aol DOT com

  15. Deborah R

    Sounds interesting! Thanks for the chance to win!

  16. Anne

    Sounds great, I’d love to win!

    Thanks

  17. cheryl k

    sounds like a great read – count me in to win it

  18. Estela S

    Count me in, please! Sounds great!!

  19. Becky Grayson

    This book sounds like a fantastic read. Please enter me into your giveaway.

    Thanks so much!

    dbkagrayson2002 at gmail dot com

  20. Wendy aka misswendiki

    This book sounds so interesting. THanks for the chance to win!

  21. Kathy D

    looks like a great read….

  22. Debbie Deskin

    Please include in your drawing. Thanks
    Debbie
    debdesk9@verizon.net

  23. I love getting peeks “behind the scenes” of the lives of famous people. Please enter me!

    jgbeads AT gmail DOT com

  24. Sounds interesting – I’d love to be entered! Thanks 🙂

  25. Sara Miller

    Really want to win. Thanks! Sararush (at) hotmail (dot) com.

  26. Debbie Deskin

    Please include me in your drawing. I would love to read this book. Thanks Debbie

  27. I’d really love to win this book. Please enter me. Thanks.

  28. This book sounds so interesting and I can pass it along to my SIL after I’m finished!

  29. Mel K.

    OH MAN! I would love to win this book! It would have been so cool to hang with the Stones back in the day. Plus (and I know this sounds crazy) I have this thing for Manson. History and rock culture? YES, please!

    Mel K.
    Meljprincess AT aol DOT com

  30. Janice

    Would love to win this book!

    jlhal@verizon.net

  31. Darby Lohrding

    I love strories that are made up of smaller stories, and this is bound to be a great read!!!!
    Thanks so much,
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

  32. Linda Horricks

    Thanks for a chance at a fun read! Love the Rolling Stones–grew up listening, and think this would be great fun!

  33. Brynn

    Love the concept of following three stories that will allow the reader to reflect on the different pathways toward, and reactions to, fame.

  34. I have just started seeing this book around – it sounds great – please enter me in the drawing.

    kherbrand at comcast dot net

  35. Carlene

    Please include me in your drawing.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    willreadforever@verizon.net

Leave a Reply

